Looking For the Pony

Generations and the Economic Crisis

Posted in economy, Generation Analysis by Scott Davis on April 16, 2009

I am currently reading Generations by William Strauss and Neil Howe as part of my book research and the bok, along with a recent post on Modite have really made me think about the current economic crisis.

Strauss and Howe identify a circular pattern of four distinct generations that has repeated in America since 1584; the generations are adaptive, civic, idealist and reactive. In their theory, GIs (b. 1901-1924) are the civics, Silents (b. 1925-1942) are the adaptives, Boomers (b. 1943-1961) are the idealists, and Gen X (b. 1961-1981) are the reactives. Gen Y (b. 1981-2000) are another set of civics.

In their analysis, every 45 or so years the active generations (excluding the very old and very young) experience either a secular or spiritual crisis. Secular crises include the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, Great Depression-World War II. Spiritual crises would include periods like the Sixties or the Transcendentalists of the 1820s.

The final element so far is that each generation passes through a life stage: youth (age 0-21), rising adulthood (age 22-43), midlife (age 44-65) and elder (age 66-87). (I’ll post a chart so this makes more sense).

The authors identify five secular crises that produced sweeping change but only four were met with a sense of victory and the dawn of a new era.  These four successful resolutions shared something in common:

  • Idealist elders providing principle and vision
  • Reactive midlifers that are pragmatic leaders
  • Civic rising adults doing their duty
  • Adaptive youths following adults and making few demands

The spiritual crises exhibit a different pattern: “the trained order-takers are old while the instinctive order-givers are young.  Any collective effort faces strong social obstacles.”  This was the same pattern Strauss and Howe found during the Civil War — successful in that it ended the horror of slavery and reunited the US, but could have been resolved with far fewer casualties had it occured 20 years earlier or later.

generational-chart1

Many have expressed concern about the merits of Gen Y — for one I am not concerned because they appear to be following a pattern that has existed for 500 years and will likely contribute very much to our society.  But if the housing bubble is our next major secular crisis, has it, like the Civil War occurred too early?  The accompanying chart suggests that it would be more easily resolved with different leadership –by that I don’t mean someone else instead of Obama — rather if the crisis came with a leadership pattern reflective of the Great Depression/World War II,  rather than what we see today from a generational perspective.

I don’t know the answer, but I am interested in your thoughts & comments.

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Robert Reed said, on April 17, 2009 at 3:09 pm

    One thing you should do is read The Fourth Turning. It is made by the same authors, but the dates are a little wider. For instance, the prior Fourth Turning began in 1929 and ended in 1946, the prior Second Turning began in 1964 and ended in 1984, and this current Fourth Turning was predicted to begin in 2005. My personal opinion is that the Fourth Turning did begin in 2005 with Katrina, and that your 2006 date would be for the beginning of the Fourth Turning. My personal opinion is that the Secular Crisis (as defined in Generations) began in early 2008. 2008 was an usually tumultuous year. The energy crisis with record gas prices, sudden drop in consumption, rice shortage panic, the democratic primaries, the election of Obama, the Crash of 2008, the resulting Wall Street vs. Main Street social conflict, and the superhero summer of movies (Iron Man, Dark Knight, Hancock, etc.) are all major historic events that will define this current Crisis.

    You should check out the Fourth Turning forums. Very good discussion. Not everyone agrees on the dates. Some people think 9/11 started it all, some say Katrina, and some say the Crash of 2008. But you’ll learn a lot.

    http://www.fourthturning.com/forum

  2. Robert Reed said, on April 17, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    Also, I don’t think that there would be any kind of anomaly, unless 9/11 was the real start of the Crisis. Even so, I think the Crisis is proceeding normally; I think their 2013 date was actually a little late, given the patterns of generational change and era change during this cycle. 2008 makes an awesome fit for the social moment, IMO.

    • Scott Davis said, on April 17, 2009 at 10:45 pm

      Robert, thanks for the response. I will take a look at the forums and have ordered the book. I agree with you the events of 2008 represent a significant crisis; I am mainly wondering if the specific generations today have the alignment with respect to age location for an ideal vs. subideal resolution. I look forward to the 4th turning fora perspectives.

  3. Dave Sohigian said, on April 22, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    Scott, I agree with Robert Reed that you should read “The Fourth Turning”, although I must admit it is pretty dense stuff. When I was reading the book I found that the lack of visuals to explain the topics made it more difficult to grasp (especially for the timelines). I created a bunch of charts and visuals that can be useful companions to the works of Strauss and Howe. You can find them in the Start Here section of my blog The Gen X Files. I would love to hear your thoughts.

    • Scott Davis said, on April 22, 2009 at 4:27 pm

      Dave-

      Thanks for your comments. 4th Turning is on the way from Amazon. I look forward to reading your blog and seeing what you have put together. I have been looking for fellow Gen X bloggers!

      Scott

  4. Adil said, on May 5, 2009 at 9:30 am

    Hi Scott, I haven’t read either books mentioned so I cannot directly comment on them, but I did immediately think about how creativity is typically a bad word during good times. The reason I mention that is that we require both secular and spiritual crises to motivate mass consideration and acceptance of change. Obama is a perfect example of this – while you can attribute his success to many factors, I’d be willing to wager that he would not have faired the same success had he followed Bill Clinton.

    So basically, I’m looking forward to this period from a change point of view and I think we share the same opinion that our current crisis provides incredible opportunities.

    One thing I was wondering though was where you got the age parameters when defining Gen X and Gen Y? I’m 26 and have never considered myself part of nor found sources that would place me in Gen X. Just curious.

    Adil
    Creativity Killed the Recession

  5. Scott Davis said, on May 5, 2009 at 10:50 am

    Adil-

    Thanks for your comment. I really enjoy your blog and read it frequently, even if I haven’t posted yet.

    I would recommend the books, but probably Fourth Turning over Generations — I don’t think you need to read both because they are very similar, and Fourth Turning was more recent. At 26 (1983/84?), I wouldn’t put you in Gen X either — the age ranges vary, but based on personal experience I would have a hard time describing anyone under 30 as an Xer. Most descriptions I have seen are beginning in 1961-1964 and ending 1978-1981, but are particularly fluid on the edges. My friends nearer the boomer/X’er edge, for instance, display some of both characteristics, as do my friends near then Gen X/Gen Y boundary.

    Maybe where you are getting caught up is the “phase of life” category that Strauss & Howe developed. This is descriptive of your stage of life, which is based on a fixed age rather than your generation, which is more based on fixed birth years and the common experiences people born in those years experienced. So you maybe on the “leading edge” of Gen Y entering the next phase even though is dominated by Gen X today.

    If anything, your optimism about the opportunities ahead would solidly place you in Gen Y. I don’t think creativity is necessarily a bad word during good economic times — think Google, BlackBerrys, Yahoo, Wikipedia — but hard times do focus creative power like a lens.

    Thanks for the comments!

    • Adil said, on May 7, 2009 at 9:58 pm

      You’re totally right, I was getting tripped up on the “phase of life” descriptor. Thanks for clarifying.

      And thanks for the book suggestion, I’ll put that on deck. I’m reading “Founders at Work” right now, which is a pretty awesome interview series with the founders of companies like apple, hotmail, google, paypal about when they were specifically in the ‘founders’ period. Its just interesting to learn about how and why decisions were made for some of the most powerful and prominent companies out there right now.

      Great job with the blog.

  6. Adil said, on May 7, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    Also, I’m having problems when I try and RSS. Not sure if that’s on my end or not but worth checking on your end.


Leave a comment